2016-17 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Overview: Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered by the CSC in partnership with UK universities. These scholarships are intended for students from developing countries who would not otherwise be able to afford to undertake Master’s level study in the UK, to gain skills and knowledge which will allow them to contribute to the development of their home countries.

Study Level: Masters

Area of Study: Subjects related to the development of home country.

Scholarship Value: DFID and participating United Kingdom institutions will jointly meet the full costs of an award holder’s study in the United Kingdom including approved tuition and examination fees, air fares to and from the United Kingdom, maintenance allowance, thesis grants, initial arrival allowance, and travel expenses related to study.

Requirements: To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, candidates must:
Be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons
Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth
Be available to commence their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2016
Hold, by September 2016, a first degree of at least upper second class Honours standard
Not have undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country
Be unable themselves, or through their families, to pay to study in the UK

How to Apply: All applications must be made through your host UK university. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date.
All Commonwealth Shared Scholarship candidates must be selected and put forward to the CSC by their host UK university, and must submit their application to the CSC using our Electronic Application System (EAS).
Candidates must apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship using one of two methods, as instructed by the university:
Via university: Applying to the university in the first instance using the university’s own application form. If selected, candidates will then be asked to submit an application to the CSC using the EAS. Any applications made via the EAS only and not directly to the university first will not be considered.
EAS only: Applying to both the university and the CSC at the same time using the EAS.
Each university has its own closing date for applications. Any applications received after this date will be deemed ineligible.All enquiries about Commonwealth Shared Scholarships should be directed to the university to which you wish to apply.

Deadline: 1 April 2016 @ 23.59 (BST) 

Website: More Info